Teaching Vacation: Expounding on Time Shares

As I’m now arriving at the first timeshare condo,  I’ll use this space to discuss my experience with timeshare ownership. These days, the most common discourse around timeshares is “how do I get out of this crappy purchase”?” along with “we’ll help you sell your timeshare!” which suggests two things. First, a lot of people have second thoughts about timeshares, and next, that there’s still a lot of demand for timeshares.

This paradox is resolved by understanding that  a lot of people spend too much on timeshares and are aghast at the expense. They want out. But many other people like the condos that timeshares offer. Many people prefer vacation condos to hotels (raises hand). That’s a big part of their appeal. All those ads for “let us help you get out of your timeshare” are run by  large vacation rental companies  buy the points, book a lot of time, and then resell it.  (which explains why the ordinary owner has a harder time finding availability). There is also a big market in buying timeshare points on the secondary market, instead of through the company, as the points are much cheaper.

My now ex-husband and I made a small timeshare purchase (a week every other year)  in 1984 when I was 22 years old I kept the timeshare when we divorced six years later and picked  up some more points in the 90s, when I used the timeshare quite a bit. The dotcom bust of 2000 changed my career course; I became a tutor and while I wasn’t struggling, I had less time for vacations and didn’t use the condos for a decade. I still paid for the points, which was not terribly onerous, and in 2010, when I began teaching, I started using it again. In 2013 or thereabouts, the company offered me the opportunity to convert to ownership.

“Wow, you’re a lot younger than I expected,” said the sales guy, when I walked in.

“Not something I hear a lot now that I’m fifty,” I said.

“Yes, but you’ve been a member for nearly 30 years. Most people with that level of seniority are in their 70s, and I’m using this time to explain to them that they can deed their timeshare to their grandkids.”

“Well, I am a grandma, but yeah, I’m planning on enjoying it for a lot more years before I bequeath it.”

I bought into the ownership for $13,000, which was a ridiculously low sum for permanent ownership.

Most timeshares work in points. The larger the unit, the more in demand the location, the better the season, the more points required. Christmas in Hawaii is the highest value, Palm Springs in August, very off season. Skiing lodges are more in winter, less in summer. And so on.

Vacation timeshares have two sales model: the easy pitch and the hardsell. I usually got the easy pitches, upgrades with a lot of sweeteners. But vacation time sales pitches can be spam to the level of harassment. When a cousin was staying at my timeshare the company got their phone number and she and her husband were spammed endlessly with pitch calls  until they threatened a lawsuit. I felt terrible and called in demanding to know how I could be sure guests weren’t somehow put on a list. They promised not to do it again. I’m skeptical. I also called up the sales office once looking for information, and got a serious hard sell for an upgrade that sounded great and affordable until I learned that the reality of Interval International was incredibly complicated and not nearly as good as promised. I called up Owner Services and explained what happened. They rolled back the price. Which is the kind of service you get as a Silver Tier member who has never complained in nearly 40 years of leasing and owning.

I also get spammed a lot by other timeshare companies. Am I the only one kind of squicked out by a lot of them insisting that I bring a husband? As in, if I’m not married, they don’t want me? Not sure if my own company is like that today.

Point being, I come not to praise timeshares nor condemn them. I got in early and they have served me well, is all.

My timeshare, which originated points based system, runs its own independent resorts for the most part and then rents spaces in certain locations. Then we can also buy weeks in exchange offerings. That’s in addition to membership in RCI and Interval International, which I find very much not worth it. I’d rather buy on the open market.

My Cape Cod condo site, The Cove at Yarmouth, is owned by another company. On the plus side, it has many of the advantages of a hotel: 24 hour front desk service, a restaurant, plenty of vending machines, three pools, a steaming, large hot tub, and more than a few conference rooms. The rooms had two full baths.  Downside, it suffered from being in Yarmouth which, for reasons I don’t understand, bans cooking in condo units. Its wifi was really weak. Cable selection was non-existent. All of these were weaknesses, but not dealbreakers.

Over the next two months, I booked two other units; one in Lincoln, New Hampshire, which is owned by my company, and on in Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, which my company rents time with. I didn’t spend much time at the New Hampshire unit, although it had a gorgeous setting, great convenient location, nice facilities, excellent wifi. I’ll definitely return. My current facilities in Florida are utterly fantastic, possibly my favorite place ever. Beach is a few steps away, view is spectacular, huge range of restaurants nearby, great cable selection, fast and consistent wifi, and…well, I don’t know how to explain it. I like a lot of my facilities: Palm Springs, Newport, Vegas, Tahoe, Sun Valley, Sedona, the Hawaiian condos. But this one is the best beach condo ever–perfectly suited to my priorities.

Anyway. If you think sleeping in my car is weird, remember that for three weeks of my trip I’m in very comfortable condos, courtesy of 40 years in timeshare.

Next Up: Teaching Vacation: Cape Cod, The First Time

Leave a comment