Codeswitching

My taste in music is lamentably mainstream, but I’m old, so it’s rare I’m actually familiar with a popular song. Still, even I have heard Blurred Lines on the radio. So at my forum, someone linked in the oh so completely not safe for work video, which is nonetheless pretty fun, feminists be damned.

So then I found the Jimmy Fallon version which is amazingly….cuddly. Thicke and the Roots are not only having a blast; they’re doing the song up right. Fallon, as always, is outstanding.

And it struck me how complicated people are. Both videos are superb examples of the style they’re aiming for, and in both, Robin Thicke is an essential element. Not everyone can code switch so well.

Now, Meryl Streep could do both videos without breaking a sweat.

Leave a Reply

